Dating / Online dating

Well That Lasted Less Than 24 Hours

After my last post (Lola Goes It Alone), written less than 24 hours ago, I got some flak about my decision to hole up in my den of depression and watch Liam get away.

My friends raised some good points, Jez told me I was putting the cart before the horse, and Douglas wondered what the hell was wrong with me.

So after considering the sage advice I received, I decided instead of simply canceling tomorrow’s date with Liam, to send him a message telling him that I’m a hot mess, that I’m still not over my last relationship, and let HIM decide what he wanted to do about seeing me again.

Liam,

I need to say something to you. I am very attracted to you, I LOVE your personality and always enjoy hanging out with you. I think you are a rare and special find, I honestly do.

But I’m still nursing a broken heart  from my last relationship, and I’m not sure it is fair of me to be taking up your time with my half-available heart.

I just thought the best thing to do would be to throw this information out there and let you decide if you want to keep seeing me in spite of my sometimes emotionally unavailable ways.

Either way, I would love to remain a part of your life, even if it’s just friendship.

Lola

His response (Which Jez and I concluded, is pretty much perfect):

Lola,

No worries. Thank you for sharing. I have my own bucket of stuff about relationships so I think we are two peas in a pod. I would still love to hang out. I will text you when I am back in town.

Liam

So thanks to my friends who raised a ruckus when they read yesterday’s post, I haven’t lost Liam yet, and I have renewed zeal for our date tomorrow. Maybe I won’t be needing that vibrator after all? 😉

Lola

2 thoughts on “Well That Lasted Less Than 24 Hours

  1. Wow…I feel so important now…I got mentioned in a blog (and I must be the only guy whose name you haven’t changed!!!) 😉
    -Doug

Post a comment!

