Dating

Lola Revokes Jane’s “Friend Card”

Last night was my second and final date with Avery (online guy #12). It is questionable whether or not I have him or one of my “friends” to thank for this debacle of an evening, so at this point I am blaming them both, and washing my hands of them both.

Not that it matters much, since I already had one foot out the door with him because I did not feel we would be sexually compatible, as I wrote in my previous post Lola and Jez Talk Sex/Dating.

But I have decided to tell you what happened mainly to get it out of my system.

Now I am certainly no saint, especially when there is alcohol involved. But I really feel there is a code that should not be violated between friends, no matter how drunk you are. That code is this: If a person brings a date to a function, don’t try to swipe said person out from under their nose.

I mean for God’s sake, at least have the decency to do it behind their back!! Get their number, text them later, tell them how hot they are, whatever. Do your cheating thing if you must, but DO NOT DO IT IN FRONT OF THEIR DATE (ALSO YOUR FRIEND).

Avery had invited me over to his house for dinner last night, but I was telling one of my girlfriends, (I’ll call her Jane for the purpose of this post) that I didn’t think I wanted to deal with that since I wasn’t sure where things were going with him. Jane graciously offered to host a party at her place. That seemed like it would ease the pressure, so I invited Avery and she invited several other people, including a guy she is having sex with.

You would think that one guy per party would be enough for her, but sadly that was not the case.

Avery arrived separate from me and when he walked in, he looked very fine in his business attire. He’s just sexy, I will not dispute that. It’s no mystery why Jane was attracted to him. He’s a strapping farm boy turned business man who works out 5 times a week, and knows how to dress. So yeah…he looked good.

Introductions were made and the festivities began. The evening was going fairly well, I was keeping a safe distance from his steely gaze, sitting with Jane on the couch. I received a text from him about 30 minutes into the evening telling me how beautiful and funny I am. I was starting to loosen up and thought to myself, maybe I should give him a chance, he does seem to really like me. The wine was flowing, the music was playing and dancing ensued.  Avery danced with all the ladies, including a few numbers with Jane. On about his 3rd dance with Jane, I noticed her unbutton his shirt several buttons down.  I thought it was strange, but chalked it up to wine, good times and Avery being sexy.

Avery came over and asked me to dance, so I did. As we danced, he worked his magic on me as he tried to pin me down for a Saturday night date. Against my better judgement, I agreed to a 3rd date, (let me just take this moment to say I hate men who pressure me, which he was). I said, “Ok, I’ll go to this thing with you on Saturday.”  He then tipped my chin up and said, “Look me in the eye and tell me that you promise to go out with me Saturday night.” At this point, I’m thinking; seriously, WTF??  I looked him directly in the eye and said, “I already said I would go, so I’ll go.” He seemed rather unsure, but forged on and said, “Then we have to do it up right. I’ll pick you up and take you out for a nice dinner before the event.” Good Lord, I’m thinking to myself, he is so freaking dire about me, could he really like me that much already?  We finished the dance and I said I needed a break.

I went back to my perch on the couch next to Jane who turned to me immediately and asked rather bluntly, “So are you going to turn Avery over to me?”

I looked at her in shock and said, “No, why would I? I’m trying to figure out if I like him or not, you know that.”

She shrugged and said, “Well I KNOW I like him.”

WTF!!! Now I was really feeling like this was an out-of-body experience, but still, I let it go.  I turned to answer a question from another person and the next thing I knew, Jane and Avery were disappearing into the bedroom. I should note: The stereo was in the bedroom and it was Avery’s music playing, so there was some reason for him to be in the bedroom. But after her comment, I thought it was fishy. Not that I cared much, but I just wanted to see for myself what the hell was going on. Mainly I wanted to confirm my suspicions. So I got up and walked over to the doorway of the bedroom just in time to see Avery cup Jane’s face in his hands and lean down to try to kiss her. Jane did back away, but I have a feeling she wouldn’t have backed away if he pressed her a second time. I stood there dazed for a few seconds, and Avery looked up and saw me standing in the doorway.

I didn’t even miss a beat, I set my wine glass down on the table and said without flinching, “I’m leaving.”

There was no argument, or even a murmur from either of them as I turned and walked away. One of the other party-goers shouted, “What!!!??? Leaving!! We are just getting started, why are you leaving?”

I calmly picked up my purse and said just loudly enough so Jane and Avery could also hear me, “I’ve seen enough for one night.” And I got into my car and drove away with what was left of my dignity.

I texted Avery upon my arrival home (right before I deleted his number from my phone) and said: I saw you try to kiss Jane. Please do not contact me again. And he hasn’t.

*Additional information is in the comment section.

5 thoughts on “Lola Revokes Jane’s “Friend Card”

  1. Jez told me I left this post kind of unfinished by not writing more about what happened afterwards with Jane. So here is an addendum:

    I texted Jane that night and told her I thought he was an asshole and that I didn’t appreciate the move he made on her. I also explained to her that I told him to leave me alone and I want nothing more to do with him. She apologized twice and asked if we are “good.” She has since friended him on Facebook. I’m playing it very cool, but I cancelled our wine night last night, and to be honest I don’t think I can stomach her after this trick, but what do you think? Am I being too harsh, revoking the friend card after such a violation?

    • And this just in: Jane has taken my original date with Avery for tonight. Yes, that’s it. The friend card is revoked.
      -Lola

  2. Pingback: Liam Makes His Move « Lola, Elle and Jezebel Tell All

Post a comment!

